> Click here to see how to order <


Under the motto: "Manipulate the world - take care of the world", Fahlström set up a variety of meeting-places in which participants were invited to take part in an interdiciplinary game of purposeful discovery. He introduced elements of popular culture into his work early on and made substantial contributions to a critical assessment of the "medialisation" of art. In this, the most extensive book about Öyvind Fahlström to date, Teddy Hultberg charts the artist´s predominant lines of creative development and shows how his cross-genre endeavours were based on a few central ideas: character forms, signs, games and life materials.

The present study focuses on two innovative and extraordinary compositions for radio: "Birds in Sweden" (1963) and "The Holy Torsten Nilsson" (1966). These works can be heard on the two accompanying CD records and are also included here in written form. Some unique and hitherto unpublished visual and textual material, the result of several years of research by Teddy Hultberg, is also included in the book.


CD 1
1. Birds in Sweden (1963)

The Holy Torsten Nilsson (1966)

2. Chapter 1, Ö.F. eavesdrops
3. Chapter 2, The Laser
4. Chapter 5, First visit to the institution
5. Chapter 6, Erlander´s legacy
6. Chapter 7, Lee and Raymond Wood
7. Chapter 8, With Erlander
8. Chapter 9, The pleasure yacht
9. Chapter 14, Happening in Shanghai


CD 2

The Holy Torsten Nilsson (cont.)

1. Chapter 18, My undresses Lee
2. Chapter 22, My is interrogated
3. Chapter 23, Lee awakens at a graveside
4. Chapter 25, Sweden gets the upper hand
5. Chapter 26, Attempt on Palme´s life
6. Chapter 27, The stylites
7. Chapter 28, Sweden the underdog
8. Chapter 31, The sore spot
9. Chapter 32, Ö. enters På
10. Chapter 33, Wood in Kina
11. Chapter 34, Siamese twins
12. Chapter 35, Lo´s second explanation

- FYCD 1016:1-2, 1998

Price: 400 SEK + shipping